Tuesday, December 12, 2017

2017 All-Stars 30-0


2016 All-Stars 23-0

The Waterford players, Austin Gleeson, Pauric Mahony, Jamie Barron, Tadhg de Búrca and Noel Connors, who played on the 2016 PwC All Star Team and 2017 PwC All Star Team after the PwC All Star Tour 2017 – All Star Hurling game at the Singapore Recreation Club in Singapore. Photo: Ray McManus/Sportsfile.

PWC Hurling All-Stars Tour

The PWC hurling All-Stars of 2016 and 2017 are currently in Singapore on tour and on Saturday they played a challenge match (nine a-side) at the Singapore Recreation Club, which normally plays host to cricket matches.
There are five Waterford men on the tour, 2016 Hurler and Young Hurler of the Year, Austin Gleeson, Tadhg de Burca, Noel Connors, Jamie Barron and Pauric Mahony and it was the latter who was the star of the show with a brilliant tally of ten goals for the 2017 team.
The 2017 team was managed by Liam Sheedy (who was standing in for the unavailable Micheál Donoghue) and the 2016 team was managed by Tipperary boss, Michael Ryan.
With no points allowed in this game, it was the men of 2017 who were on the front foot from the off of this four ten minute quarters and after the first quarter they led by four goals. Their lead was 14-10 at half-time but the 2016 All-Stars stormed back in the third quarter to ensure that only a single goal (18-17) separated the teams entering the final ten minutes.
Enter Pauric Mahony as the Ballygunner man hit five goals in a row in the final period to seal the win for the 2017 men.

Scorers – 2017 All-Stars: Pauric Mahony 10 goals, Conor Cooney 7 goals, Conor Whelan 4 goals, Brendan Maher, Tadhg De Búrca both 2 goals, David Burke, Lee Chin, Noel McGrath, Noel Connors, Padraic Dineen all 1 goal.

2016 All-Stars: Gary Hanniffy 4 goals, Patrick Maher, Walter Walsh, Ronan Maher all 3 goals, Cathal Barrett, Daithi Burke, Padraig Walsh, Austin Gleeson, John McGrath all 2 goals.

2017 All-Stars panel: Colm Callanan (Galway), Padraic Mannion (Galway), Matthew O’Hanlon (Wexford), Noel Connors (Waterford), Tadhg de Burca (Waterford), Gearoid McInerney (Galway), Padraic Dineen (Kerry), David Burke (Galway), Brendan Maher (Tipperary), Lee Chin (Wexford), Pauric Mahony (Waterford), Conor Whelan (Galway), Conor Cooney (Galway), Noel McGrath (Tipperary), Mike Barry (Clare).

2016 All-Stars panel: Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny), Cathal Barrett (Tipperary), James Barry (Tipperary), Daithi Burke (Galway), Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny), Ronan Maher (Tipperary), Padraic Maher (Tipperary), Jamie Barron (Waterford), Gary Hannify (Offaly), Walter Walsh (Kilkenny), Austin Gleeson (Waterford), Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher (Tipperary), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Seamus Callanan (Tipperary), John McGrath (Tipperary).
Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary).

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: 051 874951

More Waterford Sport

What a week for Waterford athletics

Busy times for Power and Dawson

More by this Journalist

Busy times for Power and Dawson

Williams pens new deal at Ewood Park