Tuesday, November 07, 2017

There’s not long to go now and dancers from right throughout the county of Waterford are busily practising for the Strictly Dance – Waterford GAA which will be held in the splendid WIT Arena in Carriganore on this coming Saturday night, November 11.
The night is in aid of the Waterford GAA County Board and a specially formed committee, under the chairmanship of Sean Michael O’Regan, has been busy this last three months laying the foundations for what is hoped to be a stunning success.
32 dancers in all will showcase their talents on stage, some who are actively involved with GAA clubs, and others who simply answered the call! There have been gatherings in Crotty’s of Lemybrien every Saturday morning where the participants have been expertly tutored. As well as practicing, the dancers have also been fundraising and there have been table quizzes, bucket collections, raffles, cake sales, coffee mornings,etc- you name it and these great volunteers have had them.
Tickets at €20 for the night itself are selling like hot cakes, but the odd one might still be available from the dancers themselves, members of the county or divisional boards or by visiting www.collectit.ie/stricly-dance2017. It promises go be a fantastic night’s entertainment and fun and to help Waterford GAA continue to prosper in this county. The event’s main sponsor is Waterford Periodontic & Implant Denistry.

The full list of competing dancers and their clubs or organisations in brackets are:
Male dancers: Tommy Hennessy (Kill), Johnny Landers (Kilgobnet), Tommy O’Brien (Clonea), George Henderson (Passage), Michael Dalton (Modeligo), Nick Keating (Ardmore), Tommy Byrne (Ballyduff Upper), Pat Power (Stradbally), Marc O’Neill (Ballyduff Lower), Jason Dee (Kilrossanty), Pat Grant (Presentation School), Ger Harris (Ballyduff Lower), Mark Lynam (Tramore), Michael Kelleher (Abbeyside), Tommy O’Sullivan (Cappoquin), Gerry O’Rourke (Mellery/Glen Rovers).
Female dancers: Tina Gleeson (Mount Sion), Maria Scanlon (Cappoquin), Aoife Dunphy (Portlaw), Becky Kavanagh (St. Ann’s/Dunhill), Tara-Jane Power (Kirwans Pharmacy), Cartherine Bernos (Sanofi), Kathleen Power (Tramore), Ruth Beadle (Sanofi), Karen Power (Hooper Dolan), Taylor Murray (Dungarvan), Lorraine Bray Mellery/Glen Rovers), Helena Goff (The Local Bar), Nuala McKenna (Tramore), Valerie Daly (Nutrilicious Food Bar), Catherine Talyor (Bonmahon) and Joanne Mahony (Ballygunner.
Best of luck to all the dancers on Saturday night.

Comments are closed.

Contact Journalist: 051 874951

More Waterford Sport

More by this Journalist