Tuesday, September 26, 2017


The Waterford senior hurlers look set to be well represented on this year’s PWC All-Star hurling team after they received an excellent 11 nominations this week.
As is now tradition the All-Ireland finalists dominate the nominations, with All-Ireland and NHL champions Galway leading the way with 14 nominations.
The remainder of the breakdown is Cork 8, Tipperary 5, Wexford 4,Kilkenny 2 and Clare 1 with the selections having been voted on by a committee made up of GAA media, and chaired by Uachtarán ChumannLuthchleas Gael, Aogán Ó Fearghail.
The Waterford nominees are: goalkeeper Stephen O’Keeffe, defenders Noel Connors, Tadhg de Búrca, Darragh Fives, Philip Mahony and Conor Gleeson, midfielder Jamie Barron and forwards Kevin Moran, Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh, Austin Gleeson and Pauric Mahony.
The Deise are also well represented in the nominations for the Player of the Year awards. In the shortlist for the senior Player of the Year, Waterford captain Kevin Moran and midfielder Jamie Barron are nominated along with Galway’s Joe Canning.
In the race for the player of the year it was a big surprise that Galway centre-back, Gearoid McInerney, hasn’t been nominated for the senior Player of the Year Award, despite being chosen as the winner of that award by RTE’s Sunday Game panel on the night of the All-Ireland Final.
I see the bookies have Joe Canning as a red-hot 1/4 favourite to take the honour, which is a bit of a surprise to me after the brilliance of the Waterford pair all year but I think the fear is that the two Waterford men might split the vote, leaving the way open for Canning. The player of the year awards are voted by members of the GPA.
In the shortlist for the Young Hurler of the Year, Waterford’s Conor Gleeson make the three-man list along with Conor Whelan of Galway and Cork’s Mark Coleman.
It’s hard to argue with 11 nominations but I guess the one man that can feel particularly aggrieved is Ballygunner’s Barry Coughlan who had an excellent year at full-back and still hasn’t made the list of nominees.
The final 15 that make up the PwC All-Star Hurling team of 2017 will be presented with their coveted awards at a gala black tie banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday, November 3 – an event to be screened live by RTE TV.
The GAA and GPA have announced PwC as the new sponsors of the All-Star awards in an arrangement that will run until 2020 and see the rebranding of the awards under the title of PwC All-Stars.

PwC All-Star Hurling Nominations

Colm Callanan (Galway), Anthony Nash (Cork), Stephen O’Keeffe (Waterford),

Mark Coleman (Cork), Daithí Burke (Galway), Gearóid McInerney (Galway), Padraic Maher (Tipperary), Padraig Mannion (Galway), Noel Connors (Waterford), Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford), Aidan Harte (Galway), Adrian Tuohey (Galway), Darragh Fives (Waterford), Diarmuid O’Keeffe(Wexford), Colm Spillane (Cork), John Hanbury (Galway), Damien Cahalane (Cork), Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny), Conor Gleeson (Waterford), Philip Mahony (Waterford), Matthew O’Hanlon (Wexford)

David Burke (Galway), Jamie Barron (Waterford), Brendan Maher (Tipperary), Johnny Coen (Galway), Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork), Lee Chin (Wexford)

Kevin Moran (Waterford), Joe Canning (Galway), Conor Cooney (Galway), Joseph Cooney (Galway), Patrick Horgan (Cork), PauricMahony (Waterford), John McGrath (Tipperary), Michael Walsh (Waterford), Alan Cadogan (Cork), Conor Whelan (Galway)ConorLehane (Cork), Noel McGrath (Tipperary), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Austin Gleeson (Waterford), Seamus Callanan (Tipperary), Shane O’Donnell (Clare), Conor McDonald (Wexford), CathalMannion (Galway).

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: 051 874951

More Waterford Sport

More by this Journalist

A big week for Power in Tennessee